NaNoWriMo: Day the Seventh

And on the seventh day, he rested.

I am just not feeling the love tonight, so I’m leaving the manuscript untouched this evening.  So the creativity doesn’t stop altogether, I am going to blog, though.  It’ll make me feel that I did something tonight.

One of the problems with writing non-fiction for NaNoWriMo is that it’s more difficult to use some of the more familiar methods of padding your word count.  I’m beholden to what actually happened, through my own eyes, through contemporaneous documents (letters, diaries, newspaper articles, etc.), and reference materials.

For fiction, boosting the word count is easy.  Why have your character go to Yale when she can go to the College of William and Mary?  Your protagonist doesn’t have to be from Boise, he can be from New Port Richey or Salt Lake City.

A significant, non-writing event happened yesterday.  This is the first time that I have been cheated on eBay.  Late last December, I described how I managed to get in the winning bid, literally at the last few seconds, for my reel-to-reel recorder.  Yesterday was my first negative experience with eBay.

I have long sought the October 1974 issue of the National Lampoon, the “Pubescence” issue.  I saw a listing for it–along with three other issues from 1974–for a very good price, so I bought it online, looking forward to having this issue.

In my early adolescence, I had several copies of the Lampoon, and even spent Christmas money for my own subscription.  I felt that I was too old and too sophisticated for Mad, and my father would not let me have a subscription to Playboy, so the Lampoon was good middle ground for me, with its abundance of profanity (instead of grawlixes), and occasional full nudity.

When the envelope arrived in yesterday’s mail, I was happy to look at the famous “Pubescence” issue for the first time since I was about 16.  I opened the large envelope, and there were five issues inside.  I flipped through them, very eager to see October 1974.  I opened the magazine…

And, “All I can say is, I ain’t a happy man,” as Archie Bunker would say.  Yes, there was the cover for the October 1974, but it had been Scotch-taped onto the August issue!  I got online about this, and the amount of the purchase was credited back to my account.  All’s well that ends well, but that was still a pretty low thing to do.

A little bit of day reversal here.  I may actually be in bed before midnight, on a day when I don’t have to be up early the next morning.  This morning, I felt so lethargic and draggy that I called in to my supervisor and told her I would be there in the afternoon.

The National Lampoon's most famous cover, from January 1973.  (The cover of the "Pubescence" issue is a little too risqué to post here.)

The National Lampoon‘s most famous cover, from January 1973. (The cover of the “Pubescence” issue is a little too risqué to post here.)

Leave a Reply

