Pre-Haircut and -Chinese Buffet

I did my payday circuit of the credit union and the post office during lunch today, and I’m happy to report that there were no close encounters with death while crossing High St. or any other street in Columbus.

Susie’s and my thoughts are focusing on the Old-Time Radio and Nostalgia Convention, which will be held April 24-25 at the Lexington Hotel in Cincinnati.  I’ve blogged about it before, so I won’t spill a lot of ink (or whatever the cyberspace equivalent is) talking about it.  As a public service, I’ll post the publicity for it here:

Please note the change in location.  Since this publicity was mailed out, the Cincinnati North Hotel closed its doors for good.  The convention is being held at the Lexington Hotel, 30 Tri-County Pkwy., Cincinnati.

Here is another blogger’s take on the convention and all the fun it provides:

http://booksteveslibrary.blogspot.com/2009/02/23rd-annual-old-time-radio-and.html

I was pretty busy at work today–managed to transcribe two reports dictated by a psychologist in Akron.  He’s a good guy, and his dictations are always coherent and usually quite interesting.  I also spent some time sweating blood over corrections that a doctor in Celina faxed back to me.  After dictating his stuff, I think back to Watergate when, on my 11th birthday, Nixon released 1200+ pages of edited transcripts of his White House tapes.  The transcripts caused an uproar because "(expletive deleted)" and "(inaudible)" and "(unintelligible)" seemed to show up several times per page.  I don’t sneer at that as much as I used to, because this one doctor talks at lightning speed and mumbles, so much that even when I slow the playback speed down to minimum, I often have to type boldfaced question marks when I’m typing up what he has dictated.  One thing I’ve learned is that with medical transcription, you don’t guess if you’re not sure.  Even one letter or syllable misunderstood can change a patient’s whole course of treatment.

Leave a comment